## JANUARY 8, 2024 HISTORIC PRESERVATION COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES CITY OF EDGERTON

Chairperson Shawn Prebil called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Present: Patti Gullickson, Andrew Nelson, LeAnn Cantwell, Kathleen Hessian, Mona Reierson and Shawn Prebil.

Absent: Carrie Larson

Also present: City Administrator Ramona Flanigan, Mayor Chris Lund and citizens.

Flanigan confirmed the meeting agenda was properly posted Friday, January 5, 2024 at the Post Office, Edgerton Library, City Hall and the City's website.

**APPROVAL OF MINUTES:** A Prebil/Cantwell motion to approve the November 6, 2023 Historic Preservation Commission meeting minutes passed, all voted in favor.

**NOMINATION OF NOON WHISTLE INFRASTRUCTURE:** A request has been made to designate the noon whistle as a historic improvement. The most important result of a designation would be to put controls on the demolition of the whistle itself (the piece of equipment). It is important to note that the designation would not impact the operation of the whistle, as that authority lies with the City Council. Staff provided a list of necessary steps for the designation process.

A Prebil/Gullickson motion to pursue the designation of the noon whistle as a historic improvement passed, all voted in favor.

Being no other business before the Commission, a Cantwell/Gullickson motion to adjourn passed, all voted in favor.

Ramona Flanigan/mjd City Administrator